Skip to Content

Hagan Announces Nominees for US Service Academies

Thursday, January 10, 2013


Greensboro, NC - U.S. Senator Kay Hagan (NC) today announced her 2013 nominees to the U.S. Service Academies. As some of the most selective institutions of higher education in the country, the U.S. Service Academies require applicants to receive a nomination from a member of Congress in addition to meeting eligibility and entrance requirements.

"Congratulations to this year's nominees, who are truly among the best of the best," said Hagan. "These young men and women have distinguished themselves in the classroom, on the athletic field and within their communities. I wish them the best of luck as they continue the application process and I commend them for seeking a world-class education while serving our country."

Each year, Hagan hosts Academy Day for middle and high school students interested in applying to a U.S. Service Academy. The event provides an opportunity for students to meet with cadets and midshipmen from the service academies and learn more about the nomination process through Hagan's office. Representatives from all five academies - the U.S. Air Force Academy, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, U.S. Military Academy, and U.S. Naval Academy - are on hand to speak with students, parents and guidance counselors. This year, over 400 students attended Academy Day in Winston-Salem.

Hagan, who serves on the Senate Armed Services Committee, comes from a proud military family. Her father-in-law was a two-star Marine General and her husband, father and brother all served in the Navy. Two of her nephews served in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Hagan's 2013 nominees to the U.S. Service Academies are below.

United States Air Force Academy
Tyler Albright, Lincolnton (Lincoln)
Victoria Bittleston, Statesville (Iredell)
Jesse Chasteen, Blowing Rock (Watauga)
Kaitlyn Kent, Mooresville (Iredell)
Nick Lubinecky, Wesley Chapel (Union)
Mason Kimmel, Hampstead (Pender)
Genevieve Miller, Winston-Salem (Forsyth)
Noell Noudewo, Overseas
Ethan Porter, Raleigh (Wake)
Rachel Raineri, Wake Forest (Wake)

United States Military Academy
James Adams, Charlotte (Mecklenburg)
Alexander Bisi, Apex (Wake)
Quinn Dougherty, Smithfield (Johnston)
Andrew Dutch, Greensboro (Guilford)
David Foye, Cary (Wake)
Kristopher Lindner, Morehead City (Carteret)
Rachel Preston, Raleigh (Wake)
Tye Smarjesse, Fletcher (Henderson)
Nathanael Thomas, Asheboro (Randolph)
Aaron Totten, Dunn (Harnett)

United States Naval Academy
Ashanti Curry, Jacksonville (Onslow)
Dalton Graybill, Monroe (Union)
Gilliam Hill, Elon (Alamance)
Albert Hucks, Oriental (Pamlico)
Samuel Parker, Kernersville (Forsyth)
Thomas Phillips, Raleigh (Wake)
Tanner Russ, Cornelius (Mecklenburg)
Salvatore Savarese, Apex (Wake)
Nancy Smith, Asheville (Buncombe)
Morgan Speight, Winston-Salem (Forsyth)

United States Merchant Marine Academy
Chase Boozer, Kernersville (Forsyth)
Tichina Carmon, Grimesland (Pitt)
Thomas Chimiak, Morganton (Burke)
Dillon Lewis, Mt. Holly (Gaston)
Mary London, Statesville (Iredell)
Cole Matolka, Gastonia (Gaston)
Patrick Morgan, Roxboro (Person)
Zachary Szymansky, Moyock (Currituck)
Kirsten Votaw, Cameron (Moore)

521 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Phone 202-224-6342 Fax 202-228-2563

701 Green Valley Rd;
Suite 201
Greensboro, NC 27408 Toll Free 1-877-852-9462Phone 336-333-5311 Fax 336-333-5331

310 New Bern Avenue
Raleigh, NC 27601 Phone 919-856-4630 Fax 919-856-4053

1520 South Boulevard;
Suite 205
Charlotte, NC 28203 Phone 704-334-2448 Fax 704-334-2405

82 Patton Avenue;
Suite 635
Asheville, NC 28801 Phone 828-257-6510 Fax 828-257-6514

301 South Evans Street;
Suite 102
Greenville, NC 27858 Phone 252-754-0707 Fax 252-754-0766