Skip to Content

Hagan Announces Solution to Prevent Cuts to 2014 Tobacco Buyout Payments

Payments Restored After Hagan Wrote Letter to USDA and OMB

Tuesday, January 7, 2014


Washington, D.C. - U.S. Senator Kay Hagan today announced that the final year of the Tobacco Transition Payment Program (TTPP) will be exempt from budget sequestration. In November, Hagan urged Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack and Director of the U.S. Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Sylvia Burwell to prevent cuts to the TTPP. To read a copy of Hagan's letter, click here.

"I am so pleased that after hearing from me and my colleagues about the damage subjecting these payments to sequestration would do, USDA and OMB have agreed to prevent reductions to TTPP payments for small tobacco farmers in North Carolina and across the country that depend on these payments to provide for their families and make ends meet," said Hagan. "Because these funds come from fees paid by the tobacco industry, not general taxpayer funds, they should not be subject to sequestration."

To read Secretary Vilsack's letter to Senator Hagan, click here.

"North Carolina Farm Bureau thanks Senator Hagan for her leadership and tireless efforts to avoid the misguided sequestration of the 2014 tobacco buyout payments. Her persistence was valuable in protecting North Carolina producers and quota holders from unnecessary hardship," said North Carolina Farm Bureau President Larry Wooten.

Funding for the TTPP, commonly referred to as the "tobacco buy-out," derives from user fees assessed on all tobacco product manufacturers and importers, not from general revenues of the federal government. The USDA distributes these funds to eligible recipients.

The TTPP, which was established in 2004, provides $10.1 billion in direct payments between 2005 and 2014 to tobacco growers and landholders in exchange for the elimination of the tobacco quota and price support system.

North Carolina is the top tobacco producing state in the country and is home to 2,000 small tobacco farmers.

521 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

Phone 202-224-6342

Fax 202-228-2563


701 Green Valley Rd
Suite 201
Greensboro, NC 27408

Toll Free 1-877-852-9462

Phone 336-333-5311

Fax 336-333-5331

310 New Bern Avenue
Raleigh, NC 27601

Phone 919-856-4630

Fax 919-856-4053

1520 South Boulevard
Suite 205
Charlotte, NC 28203

Phone 704-334-2448

Fax 704-334-2405

82 Patton Avenue
Suite 635
Asheville, NC 28801

Phone 828-257-6510

Fax 828-257-6514

301 South Evans Street
Suite 102
Greenville, NC 27858

Phone 252-754-0707

Fax 252-754-0766